Skip to content

Jesus, people

October 18, 2009
by

Let me make myself clear regarding my last post: I am asking what to expect with my son, what I will need to do, to know, whether I will need to defend the decision. Getting all sanctimonious about your own perspective on circumcision is not helpful. We’ve already made the decision not to, so graphic information about the state of my own genitalia to try and shock me into some kind of reaction is not helpful. The dream I had last night is indicative of some latent anxiety I have over the matter, and what I’m looking for is reassurance, not proselytizing, which is something I _never_ take well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 9:09 pm

    I am always surprised at how much of a divisive issue the circumcision decision is in the USA. It seems to me that in Britain the decision to do it or not is quite a private one, and often to do with medical or religious reasons. I’m sorry you felt attacked for asking for support on this issue… I am not a mother, so I can’t help much with advice on what to expect, but I will say that the people who matter will respect your decision as parents.
    Good luck with the birth (which, as I’m typing, appears to be fairly imminent!).

Leave a Reply

